A Legend Is Lost, But A New Star Is Born

Annex - Bacall, Lauren_15

I was saddened to hear the news of one of my idols passing. Fascinated from early age with Hollywood’s Golden Age, the first movie I ever saw of her’s was How To Marry A Millionaire. I was captivated by the image of Lauren Bacall; the way she walked, and the way she talked with such authority mesmerised me. Her grace and elegance were unrivalled by anyone. 

images

She was, until the very end, one of the most extraordinary beauties I have ever seen. Hers was a strong face. Proudly Jewish, intelligent, handsome, sophisticated and elegant. She was never mimsy or cute.

Her strong, thick brows were the kind that could bat off unwanted male attention with a faintly menacing arch. Her bones were exquisite, her mouth was wide, and full, and she possessed a glamour that was always womanly, never girlish, even when she was an ingenue of just 19. And that sexiness. Bacall had the sort of lethal femininity Elizabeth Taylor also possessed – tough, earthy, striking.

She was the woman I wanted to be when I grew up, and still is… May you rest in peace.

images-1

Leave a Reply

